730 Fox Sports

Memphis' Sports Station

King James Needs to Be Careful

 

Let me first state that I love LeBron James. I enjoy watching him play basketball, I enjoy the energy he brings to the game, and I look forward to watching him mature as a player and as a person over the next couple years. Six days ago I was just as excited as any other NBA fan about the upcoming Free Agency period, but at this point I can’t wait until its over. Since July 1, 2010 at 12:01 AM our lives have been bombarded with ESPN 24 hour “Breaking News” updates, chit chat over Twitter, along with the invasion into every other media outlet to the point of annoyance. I expected it to all die down Monday morning as we were all lead to believe that an announcement would be made on where Mr. James and other top free agents, including Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh, would be playing next year but that didn’t happen. Instead we were subjected to 3 more days of “At This Moment” updates that LeBron James just pulled into his parking spot and didn’t speak to anyone. What a surprise and just when I believed it couldn’t get any worse, ESPN or as referred to on the Dan Patrick Show “The Mothership” is providing him his own 1 hour special (Thursday July 8 At 9:00PM EST On ESPN) to tell us all where he is going next. Are you kidding me?

I am well aware of LeBron’s goal to be a global icon, I wouldn’t mind being one either, but there is a very fine line between people wanting more of you and people being forced more of you. Lebron is toeing the line BIG TIME. For a young man who seems to have so much respect for the game of basketball, it seems that neither he or those advising him understand that this is getting rather old, and fast. Just stop for a minute and ask yourself, could I see Kobe doing this, could I see Magic doing this, and more importantly could I see Jordan doing this? The answer to all three questions is No, No, and No. So why you? Someone, somewhere will read this and chalk it all up to “hating”. Very wrong, as I so desperately want LeBron James to be the greatest. I want him to win multiple championships, I want him to be in Academy Award winning movies, and run multi-billion dollar companies, but not like this. Not at the expense of his character, not at the expense of his legacy, and most importantly not at the expense of him over shadowing the great game of basketball.

July 7, 2010 - Posted by | NBA

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

