730 Fox Sports

Memphis' Sports Station

And The 2005 Heisman Trophy Goes To . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . No One

Reggie Bush saw the writing on the wall Tuesday afternoon and made a well calculated decision to return his 2005 Heisman Trophy to the committee in charge before they were scheduled to meet on Wednesday night. The meeting, though not confirmed, was largely called to discuss what the committees actions would be in regards to the 2005 Heisman Trophy. The award which is given to the most outstanding collegiate football player in the country was awarded to former USC and current New Orleans Saints Running Back Reggie Bush in December of 2005. In his final college season in Southern California Reggie tallied up over 1,700 rushing yard, 478 receiving yard, and 18 touchdowns (receiving and rushing), leaving many to label him as not only the best college football player that year but possibly the best college football player ever. Unfortunately it was later discovered that Bush and his family (mother and father) had received improper benefits while he was still considered an amateur athlete, violating NCAA rules. Because of this, USC’s Football Program along with Men’s Basketball, was hit pretty hard this summer being forced to vacate the wins from the 2005 season which they ended ranked #2 in the country after losing the BCS National Championship game to the Texas Longhorns.

Since the news was released about Reggie Bush’s status for his Heisman winning season in 2005 the question began to be asked in regards to whether or not an ineligible player can win the Trophy. No one from the Heisman Trust ever publically gave a definitive answer about what their decision would be but many speculated that Bush would be asked to return it. Bush got ahead of the embarrassment and shame of being asked to give the Trophy back and volunterarily returned it Tuesday afternoon. This action left many wondering who would receive the Trophy now? Would it be automatically given to former Texas Quarterback Vince Young who finished 2nd in the Heisman voting for that year? Or would there be a 2nd vote to determine a new winner? In a press release following last nights Heisman Trust meeting, President William J. Dockery, ended all speculation informing everyone that “there will be no Heisman Trophy winner for the year of 2005.”

Below is the Heisman Trust’ complete “Press Release” in regards to their decision on the 2005 Heisman Trophy

This will be the 1st time in 75 years that the Heisman Trophy will not have a winners name officially associated with it.

Below is the Heisman Trust’ complete “Press Release” in regards to their decision on the 2005 Heisman Trophy

Heisman Trust Statement Wednesday September 15, 2010

The Heisman Trophy Trust is a charitable entity whose mission is to ensure the continuation and integrity of the Heisman Trophy; to foster a sense of community responsibility; and to help service the disadvantaged and afflicted youth of our country. 

The Trustees of the Trust have been monitoring the NCAA investigation of Reggie Bush and USC since first announced. We determined that no action was necessary by the Trust unless and until the NCAA acted and issued its report.  Since the issuance of the NCAA decision vacating USC’s 2005 season and declaring Reggie Bush an ineligible athlete, the Trustees have met, discussed and reviewed all information underlying this decision in an effort to exercise the due diligence and due process required of any decision regarding the awarding of the 2005 Heisman Trophy.

We are very appreciative of the respect Reggie Bush demonstrated for the Heisman Trust, the whole Heisman fraternity, and the continuing legacy of the Trophy in his public statement issued September 14, 2010. It was a difficult decision to return the Heisman Trophy and he exhibited great  character in acknowledging his mistakes and accepting the consequences.   We intend to explore further his offer to support jointly  “an educational program which will assist student athletes and their families” to avoid the pitfalls that plagued him during his college years as this is a part of our charitable mission as well.

As a result of Reggie Bush’s decision to forfeit his title as Heisman winner of 2005, the Trustees have determined that there will be no Heisman Trophy winner for the year 2005. 

William J. Dockery, President, et al.


September 16, 2010 - Posted by | AP Poll, Dan Patrick Show, New Orleans Saints, NFL, Other Media, Pac 10, Reggie Bush, USC

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: